Dementia Has a Face and a Name (9 CE Credit Hours)

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started

Last Updated on October 6, 2021

Course Overview and Objectives

Note: Each course test requires a passing score of 80% or higher.

Unit One: Understanding Dementia: The Brain
  • Understand simple brain anatomy, the function of each brain area, and the way it works as a whole.
  • Be knowledgeable of the way in which the brain sends signals.
  • Understand the changes that occur in the brain with a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease.
Unit Two: Safe Environments
  • Identify ways in which to make a home more safe for a Dementia patient.
  • Understand how brain changes increase a person’s fall risk.
  • Identify comorbidities that increase a patient’s risk for falling.
Unit Three: Multicultural Competence
  • Identify the five elements of cultural and social competence
  • How to apply cultural and social competence to a persons and families affected by Dementia diagnoses.
Unit Four: Medical Treatments, Evaluations, and Testing; Ethics and Capacity Issues
  • Identify who is at risk for developing Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Understand the multiple methods used to assess someone’s mental status.
  • Understand the differences in clients considered competent to make their own decisions and those who are not.

Unit Five: Communication, ADL’s, Problem Solving, Managing Activities, Ability- Centered Care
  • Understand communication patterns of persons with dementia and identify the proper verbal or non-verbal response
  • Identify strategies to assist a dementia patient to bathe, complete dental hygiene, groom, dress, etc.
  • Recognize the behaviors that increase a client’s risk for becoming unsafe.
  • Identify strategies to manage and handle wandering, hoarding, and violence.
Unit Six: Depression
  • Identify how depression affects and contributes to a dementia diagnoses.
  • Identify strategies to manage depression for both client and caregiver.

Unit Seven: Sexuality and Intimacy

Identify aspects of professional and resourceful response to sexuality in clients.

Unit Eight: Caregiver and Family Stress, Elder Abuse
  • Identify warning signs of caregiver stress.
  • Understand familial and caregiver relationships, the boundaries and trust that ensue.
  • Identify signs of elder abuse and the proper strategies to stop and report.
Unit Nine: End of Life Care
  • Understand the differences and similarities between palliative care and hospice
  • Identify the signs and symptoms of impending death
  • Identify strategies for handling and reporting death of a client in a respectful manner.